2017 Half-Year Mark

Happy 7 month anniversary 2017! 🙂  Am I the only one who celebrates a half year anniversary? haha

So it’s now the middle of July and here I am, trying to juggle work and school (for my son this September as well as for myself) AND finding the time to edit my book, which isn’t going very well, thanks to a few set backs.  But I’m far from done though.

My short term goals this year was to basically get my book ready for publication by spending as much time on it as possible but family member hospitalizations kind of took a toll on my motivation and I’m just trying my best to keep that fire alive.

This coming September my son will be starting school and I’m going to be scrambling in between that and work.  I’m lucky I have my parents who are able to pick him up from school if I can’t.  I’d like to do some Soccer-Mom stuff just to get the experience and figure out why they are called ‘soccer mom’.  I’m pretty nervous of course, because I can still remember how scared, nervous and anxious I was at his age.  There’s a noticeable sense of social anxiety within our family, which myself and my siblings suffered at some point.  Since we all managed to overcome it, I guess it’s one thing that helps assure me that my son will eventually too.  Crossing my fingers.

My own medical scare is still causing a heap of nervousness and stressing me out more than I normally am.  What I’ve been doing is picking up my old habits from elementary all the way up to High School-which is my love for cartoons, comic books and videogames.  It’s helped me to loosen up, relax and learn to take each day as it comes.  I’ve been whiling my way with videogames these past 12+ months and notice how much less I experience chess pains and headaches from stress-even though I sleep less than 6 hours a day most times.  Literally de-stressing my brain has helped to reassure my body to function even better.  Mind over matter, is it? Always make the time to stop and smell the flowers ❤

Reading many books have not only improved my English reading and comprehension skills, but improved my imagination too.  There’s never a time where I am reading a description of something, and have trouble picturing it in my head.  Literature in videogames is especially important for the story and I am the type pf gamer whose big on character development, adventure, science-fiction, and story driven games that gives their characters a sense of purpose that the gamer, myself, can identify with. My first game was most definitely with the NES (Nintendo Entertainment) system, playing Super Mario Bros and Duck Hunt.  My dad actually bought it for my young uncle and we, along with my younger brother, shared the system.  We were a lot like siblings.  After our taste with the NES, we had our try with the SNES (Super Nintendo Entertainment System) where we played the Super Mario All Stars, Donkey Kong and other titles. Sigh..so nostalgic thinking about it.  I still own an NES system and the Super Mario All Stars which I play from time to time.  Whats so memorable about it is that, my mom played it too! 🙂  It was one of her favorite things to do when she wanted to unwind when knitting or sewing wasn’t helping.  It never crossed my mind that games are de-stressing devices that can help people mentally and physically.  It is such an under-appreciated form of art/therapy.

I can’t help but wonder how everyone else who are in my age group feels about videogames.  You know, ever since the ESRB was created, videogames have been a hot topic when it comes to children’s behaviors and violence.  Researches have been done to prove games are decreasing childrens brain function and other researches show how it increases brain functions.  I do believe, in my experience anyway, that it has helped increased brain function for me.  My motor skills, critical thinking, strategic planning and emotional understanding.  Studies have found that children who play videogames, have an understanding for compassion and exhibit them more often in their life.  The stigma that was created spawned from a few games in the 90’s. Titles like Mortal Kombat and Grand Theft Auto, to name a few, and it’s left a stigma in the videogame industry since.  I’ve personally played Mortal Kombat, and while it is bloody/gory, I don’t find myself gravitating toward those types of games, though I also didn’t have anything against it either.  Grand Theft Auto was a videogame that was really made for a more mature adult for sure, especially with the ‘Hot Coffee’ version.  I’ll let you research on that.  And there is nothing wrong with a rating system that helps you identify what the contents within the games are.  I am constantly trying to manage what my son can find on my tablet when he’s looking at youtube for trains, play doh’s and hot wheels, etc.  I might be boring you with all this information right now, but I hope it’s also been somewhat educational as well.

I bought my first PS4 system early this year and have been trying to catch up on all the games I missed during my 5 year long game hiatus.  A lot happened and I’m so happy to be back at it 🙂  I’ve just signed up to register for Beta Testing for a game for the first time, and even though I won’t know if I’ll get the chance, I’m just glad I made the decision to try my hand.  Working within the videogame industry has been a childhood dream of mine and I hope I can make it come through sometime in the future.

So Happy Half Year Anniversary to 2017.  I hope many of you are doing the things you love and enjoying each moment in life to the fullest ❤ 🙂

Author: Vannary

PLEASE NOTE: Without expressed consent, verbal or written by the author, the contents of this page may not be used without the knowledge of the Author. Plagiarism will not be tolerated and proper authorities will be notified.

6 thoughts on “2017 Half-Year Mark”

    1. Sweet! 🙂 I really liked that game too. Somehow the wii remote just can’t compare to that pretend gun for the NES hahaha. I signed for the Final Fantasy Dissidia Beta Test 🙂 This will be my first time so I’m a little nervous about what do and how to start off-but I’m never going to get the experience if I don’t step up and try it, right? 🙂 L&R my friend!

      Like

      1. Yeah! Gotta have the original for things like that. Oh cool, I’ve never really gotten into the FF games, 15 looks awesome though so I have that one on my radar. I used to beta test quite a bit back on the PS3 and some early access games now. Best thing I can say is expect some imperfections, if it’s a true beta it’ll most likely be a little rough around the edges. It’s fun to get early access to games you love though. Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Many people game differently, and RPG’s like the FF series are hard to get into if you don’t have the time to read the dialogues or spend time doing certain quests within the game-a quest within a quest-hahaha! I’ve played the old school SNES FF:Mystic Quest, then missed my chance to follow until FF7, FF8, FF9, FF10 and now F15. Big gap there because I had to force quit playing games for a while. So now I’m getting back on the saddle you could say 🙂

        Like

  1. Right, I don’t think I could go back to the old ones. That ship has probably sailed unless it’s the FF7 remake which looks cool from the trailers so far. I recently played through the Witcher 3 plus expansions and I’ve played other lengthy games. It is a little bit more rare that a game of that size can keep me dedicated to it from start to finish, sometimes I get distracted and want to play other shorter games that I was hyped for wanted to be apart of the zeitgeist and discussion. Isn’t it great to be back? I took a break for a while ages ago but once I returned, I haven’t left hahaha! It’s great to return to a beloved franchise though! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I just have that chronic nostalgia gene lolz! I love old school games so much I’d try them out at least once just to see how it works. When I watched the history of Nintendo at the Gaming Historian site, it really inspired me to play games, write more, read more and participate more in the creation of games. Hope the future of videogames will only become better as we age lolz!

      Like

Leave a Reply

