“Dear Tooth-Fairy”

So tonight, I’ll be putting $1 under his pillow and then in the morning, tell him that the Tooth-Fairy put the rest into his Savings account. Because she’s also an experienced financial accountant…apparently

My 5 year old recently had his first dental procedure-which was also his second dental visit.  In this visit, he not only received 2 crowns, whitening and filling, he also got 2 baby-root canals, which is the exact word the D.O. called it.  I was worried because I had mentioned it has been difficult weening him off his bottle because he loves milk, and I’m good with it because he receives essential vitamin D as well as helping him to improve brain function.  Everything else I made sure he would grow out of or into, but bottle-weening is just a failure at this time.  I noticed his front teeth being somewhat  loose and he also showed me  by doing the classic tongue-push-teeth that we all do when we feel our teeth loosened.  In his case, I was told that it was natural for children at his age to begin having loose teeth or already losing a teeth.  That made me feel somewhat better 🙂

Coincidentally, my dog, who is about 17 years old in human years (112 in dog years ) Lost her front fang just a few days before.  Long before I had my son, we identified my dog Niania as my daughter, mostly because she would waddle behind me everywhere I went like a baby duckling.  Now that my son is born, she has a sibling to play with.  There was a picture that we took of her, sitting and watching my son, who was about 3 months old, asleep in his tiny bed like a guardian dog.  Their relationship isn’t perfect of course.  She treats him just as she would a younger dog sibling.  When he misbehaves, she sometimes stands in front of him or nudge him with her mouth to tell him to calm down or relax or behave.  She once had 5 other siblings who we loved so dearly that we brought them with us when we moved from California.  Unfortunately, we had to give them away because we couldn’t bring them to our new apartment.

When I told my son that his tooth would be placed underneath his pillow and the Tooth-Fairy would put $1.00 for it in exchange, he asked me “why only $1.00?”  Good question, right? hahaha Well, I told him I would bargain with that Tooth-Fairy and get to the bottom of things.

I think I lost my first tooth when I was about 6 or 7.  That day when I told my mom, she said, we have to throw it over the roof of our house.  WHAT A WEIRD TRADITION, I thought.  According to our culture tradition, which ever direction on the roof the tooth fall from may predict your future prosperity, er-something like that.  I can’t remember what the outcome was.  In any case, I’m actually going to keep his teeth preserved as a precious memory trinket 🙂

So tonight, I’ll be putting $1 under his pillow and then in the morning, tell him that the Tooth-Fairy put the rest into his Savings account. Because she’s also an experienced financial accountant…apparently 🙂

Author: Vannary

I am a blogger, Poet, Online videogame streamer and Medical Assistant. I stream mainly on Twitch.tv and upload my videos to my Youtube channel. You can follow me to receive notifications of new blogs. Find me on Twitter at @VanAthenaSea Twitch www.twitch.tv/athenaxsea

Leave a Reply

