“Unsung Heroes”

Yesterday while I went to pick up my little cousin from his elementary school, my car did that thing where it didn’t want to start.  Hard to explain but I’ll try anyway.  So let’s say I drove a solid 1 hour non-stop, and then when I reach my destination I turn off the ignition.  IF I try to re-start my car again within a 30 min time period from this, it will not start.  I usually have to wait between 45 min to 1 hr before it decides to start again.  So this does sound like my car is overheating, but I’ve been getting advice from friends that it might be this or that as well.  In any case, when I started my car and it worked, I rushed to get in into gear to move forward and stepped on the gas-unfortunately, when we came to a stop sign at the crosswalk, it decided to stop working, much like not having any gas at all.  I rolled my window down and pointed to the cars behind me to veer to the left as I tried to re-start my car.  Looking very desperate, a driver behind me also switched his emergency lights on and came over to my window to ask if he could help push my car to the gas station just directly to our right.  He was a Hispanic gentleman who seemed to have just gotten out of work and heading home or to the store-truthfully, mentioning his race shouldn’t make a difference, but otherwise this post wouldn’t be created.  He spoke very good English and had a kind smile along with him.  I unclicked my seat-belt to so I could put my car in Neutral and go out to push-BUT, in one last attempt to start the car, it actually worked-my car is a freaking DIVA.  The gentleman and I laughed and he got back into his car, but stayed behind us as we drove in case it stopped again.

I feel as though, good-hearted individuals like that gentleman don’t get recognized enough.  I see it often where people of his nationality are always up to helping other people in need.  I wanted to recognize this gentleman because I felt like it has been an on-going cultural acceptance, that people just help out when they can so it doesn’t matter what race or nationality they are.  I do agree with this, but also it does matter to me what nationality.  In our country’s current and on-going battle against racism, it is very hard for individuals of the minority culture to be recognized for the help and good deeds they incorporate back into the community.  They are instead shunned and hated upon.  Hate speech disgustingly written and sprayed on their car, houses or any property they own for neighbors to see and for their children to witness just how much hate exists.

If you have ever experienced a time when you needed help, and kind-hearted individuals were available or made their help available to you, I hope it’s something you will remember for all time.  Your heart will feel warm with love and appreciation and know that the down-to-earth humble feeling you have, comes rarely.  Which is why it’s so important to appreciate it when it happens.  When I teach my son about the kindness of humanity, I am always reminded of the feeling of humility when I needed help and, even though I never bothered to ask for it, my heart warms when I get the help I needed just by the kindness in their hearts-and not even asking for anything in return.

I feel so ashamed when I think of all the opportunities that are available to me, when I am researching the situation that is occurring in my country of birth, Cambodia.  Orphanages and schools suffer the most due to the lack of/inadequate help they receive from the corrupted government.  Instead, children and families of low-income depend on charity and donations from non-profit government organizations to help improve their lively-hood. I feel as though America is now suffering from this situation because our school budgets are being cut to nothing in some states, and low-income families suffer the most from low wages and increased taxes.

Author: Vannary

PLEASE NOTE: Without expressed consent, verbal or written by the author, the contents of this page may not be used without the knowledge of the Author. Plagiarism will not be tolerated and proper authorities will be notified.

Leave a Reply

